Covid-19 in the day-to-day
Viviane, Federal Police Officer
Viviane

Federal Police Officer

People have less and less respect for the police. This has become even more true during the pandemic. It’s noticeable that we’ve become a punching bag.

The pandemic has brought changes to both Viviane’s professional life and her private life. Like all working parents, she finds the current childcare situation difficult, especially when grandparents cannot help out because they are at high risk from the virus. Viviane currently spends a large portion of her workday enforcing face mask and social distancing requirements. Understandably, no one particularly likes wearing a face mask or staying far apart from other people. Nonetheless, everyone should do their part to get the pandemic under control more quickly. This saves time and avoids stress, which is urgently needed these days. That is why Viviane wishes people had more understanding for her and her colleagues: “Sometimes”, she says, “I feel like people forget there’s a human being under my mask.”

Sabrina, Firefighter
Sabrina

Firefighter

We’ll never get through this pandemic if everyone goes it alone. The restrictions are intrusive for all of us, but we need to go along with them if we want them to end soon.

At the fire station, Sabrina and her team spend 12- or 24-hour shifts together, which makes them feel like a family. “We exercise together, we cook and eat together, we have a shared sleeping area, we go on firefighting calls together and we deal with our firefighting experiences afterwards together. That builds strong bonds between us and is what makes working in the fire service so unique. The coronavirus measures have made it more difficult for us to work together and be together. The things we worked on hand in hand earlier now have to be achieved with more distance. That is why it’s especially disappointing when some people don’t follow the rules: it makes me sad to see how careless many people are still acting in this difficult situation.”

Manuel, Paramedic
Manuel

Paramedic

Covid can affect anyone. It’s not only older people – young and physically active people can get it too. When I’m working it’s always in the back of my mind that I could get it too.

Manuel has been working as a paramedic for 20 years. His job is more important than ever during the pandemic, and he is aware of this. His shifts are more difficult than before the pandemic, both physically and mentally, but he does not let himself get discouraged. He loves his profession and accepts that the risks that come with his work are a necessary part of being able to save lives. For this reason, he wishes society would show more understanding and consideration. “Covid can affect anyone”, he says. “It’s not only older people – young and physically active people can get it too. When I’m working it’s always in the back of my mind that I could get it too.”

Fabienne, Federal Agency for Technical Relief volunteer
Fabienne

Federal Agency for Technical Relief volunteer

Before Christmas we built a coronavirus test centre very quickly. The public showed a lot of appreciation for this. You can see that people are taking the pandemic very seriously and everyone is pitching in to help it end sooner.

The Federal Agency for Technical Relief’s volunteer work has changed since the pandemic started. Fabienne and her team are now usually assigned to help with transport, pick up masks and hygiene items, or build test and vaccination centres. Wearing a mask makes physical labour more strenuous, and the team has to be careful to observe social distancing rules with each other while they’re working. This is especially difficult when it comes to emergency management work that has to be done together. This makes Fabienne appreciate her fellow volunteers’ respectful and collegial attitude towards each other all the more: “We set a good example by adhering strictly to the rules ourselves. We hope that this also inspires other people to act in a spirit of solidarity in this difficult time.”

Viviane, Federal Police Officer
Viviane

Federal Police Officer

People have less and less respect for the police. This has become even more true during the pandemic. It’s noticeable that we’ve become a punching bag.

The pandemic has brought changes to both Viviane’s professional life and her private life. Like all working parents, she finds the current childcare situation difficult, especially when grandparents cannot help out because they are at high risk from the virus. Viviane currently spends a large portion of her workday enforcing face mask and social distancing requirements. Understandably, no one particularly likes wearing a face mask or staying far apart from other people. Nonetheless, everyone should do their part to get the pandemic under control more quickly. This saves time and avoids stress, which is urgently needed these days. That is why Viviane wishes people had more understanding for her and her colleagues: “Sometimes”, she says, “I feel like people forget there’s a human being under my mask.”

Sabrina, Firefighter
Sabrina

Firefighter

We’ll never get through this pandemic if everyone goes it alone. The restrictions are intrusive for all of us, but we need to go along with them if we want them to end soon.

At the fire station, Sabrina and her team spend 12- or 24-hour shifts together, which makes them feel like a family. “We exercise together, we cook and eat together, we have a shared sleeping area, we go on firefighting calls together and we deal with our firefighting experiences afterwards together. That builds strong bonds between us and is what makes working in the fire service so unique. The coronavirus measures have made it more difficult for us to work together and be together. The things we worked on hand in hand earlier now have to be achieved with more distance. That is why it’s especially disappointing when some people don’t follow the rules: it makes me sad to see how careless many people are still acting in this difficult situation.”

Manuel, Paramedic
Manuel

Paramedic

Covid can affect anyone. It’s not only older people – young and physically active people can get it too. When I’m working it’s always in the back of my mind that I could get it too.

Manuel has been working as a paramedic for 20 years. His job is more important than ever during the pandemic, and he is aware of this. His shifts are more difficult than before the pandemic, both physically and mentally, but he does not let himself get discouraged. He loves his profession and accepts that the risks that come with his work are a necessary part of being able to save lives. For this reason, he wishes society would show more understanding and consideration. “Covid can affect anyone”, he says. “It’s not only older people – young and physically active people can get it too. When I’m working it’s always in the back of my mind that I could get it too.”

Fabienne, Federal Agency for Technical Relief volunteer
Fabienne

Federal Agency for Technical Relief volunteer

Before Christmas we built a coronavirus test centre very quickly. The public showed a lot of appreciation for this. You can see that people are taking the pandemic very seriously and everyone is pitching in to help it end sooner.

The Federal Agency for Technical Relief’s volunteer work has changed since the pandemic started. Fabienne and her team are now usually assigned to help with transport, pick up masks and hygiene items, or build test and vaccination centres. Wearing a mask makes physical labour more strenuous, and the team has to be careful to observe social distancing rules with each other while they’re working. This is especially difficult when it comes to emergency management work that has to be done together. This makes Fabienne appreciate her fellow volunteers’ respectful and collegial attitude towards each other all the more: “We set a good example by adhering strictly to the rules ourselves. We hope that this also inspires other people to act in a spirit of solidarity in this difficult time.”

Corona im Einsatzalltag
Viviane, Bundespolizistin
Viviane

Bundespolizistin

Der Respekt gegenüber der Polizei nimmt immer mehr ab. Während Corona hat sich das noch verstärkt. Man merkt: Wir sind der Prellbock.

Für Viviane hat die Pandemie einiges verändert, sowohl beruflich als auch privat. Wie für alle berufstätigen Eltern ist die Kinderbetreuung gerade nur schwer zu meistern, vor allem wenn die Großeltern Teil der Risikogruppe sind. Ihren Arbeitsalltag verbringt Viviane momentan viel damit, Abstandsregeln und Maskenpflicht zu kontrollieren. Natürlich trägt niemand gerne Maske oder geht gerne ständig auf Distanz. Trotzdem sollten alle mitmachen, um die Pandemie schneller in den Griff zu bekommen. Das spart Zeit und Nerven, die momentan dringend benötigt werden. Viviane hofft daher auf mehr Verständnis für sich und ihre Kolleginnen und Kollegen: „Manchmal habe ich das Gefühl, es wird vergessen, dass hinter der Maske auch nur ein Mensch steckt.“

Sabrina, Feuerwehrfrau
Sabrina

Feuerwehrfrau

Wir werden die Pandemie nicht als Einzelkämpfer durchstehen. Die Maßnahmen sind für alle einschneidend, doch da müssen wir jetzt durch, wenn wir den Einschränkungen bald ein Ende setzen wollen.

Auf der Wache verbringen Sabrina und ihr Team 12- oder 24-Stunden-Schichten zusammen, sie fühlen sich daher wie eine Familie. „Wir machen Sport, kochen und essen zusammen, teilen uns einen Schlafraum, fahren Einsätze und verarbeiten diese hinterher gemeinsam. Das schweißt zusammen und macht die Feuerwehr so einzigartig“. Durch die Corona-Maßnahmen ist das Miteinander schwieriger geworden, auch bei den Einsätzen. Was früher Hand in Hand gemeistert wurde, muss nun zusätzlich mit einer großen Portion Distanz geschafft werden. Da ist es besonders enttäuschend, wenn einige sich noch immer nicht an die Regeln halten: „Es macht mich traurig zu sehen, wie leichtsinnig viele Menschen noch immer mit dieser heiklen Situation umgehen.“

Manuel, Notfallsanitäter
Manuel

Notfallsanitäter

Corona kann alle treffen. Nicht nur ältere, sondern auch junge und sportlich aktive Menschen. Bei unseren Einsätzen habe ich immer im Hinterkopf, dass es mich auch erwischen könnte.

Seit 20 Jahren arbeitet Manuel als Notfallsanitäter. In der Pandemie ist sein Job wichtiger denn je, das weiß er. Auch wenn seine Schichten heute körperlich und mental anstrengender sind als vor Ausbruch der Pandemie, lässt er sich nicht entmutigen. Er liebt seinen Beruf und nimmt die Risiken, die seine Arbeit mit sich bringen, in Kauf, um Leben zu retten. Gerade deshalb hofft er auf mehr Einsicht und Rücksicht in der Gesellschaft: „Corona kann alle treffen. Nicht nur ältere, sondern auch junge und sportlich aktive Menschen. Bei unseren Einsätzen habe ich immer im Hinterkopf, dass es mich auch erwischen könnte.“

Fabienne, THW-Helferin
Fabienne

THW-Helferin

Vor Weihnachten haben wir in kürzester Zeit eine Corona-Teststation aufgebaut. Da war die Wertschätzung in der Bevölkerung besonders groß. Man merkt schon, dass die Bevölkerung die Pandemie ernst nimmt und alle mitarbeiten, damit sie bald endet.

Die ehrenamtliche Arbeit beim Technischen Hilfswerk (THW) hat sich seit Corona verändert. Fabienne und ihre Teammitglieder werden jetzt meist auf Transportfahrten eingesetzt, holen Masken und Hygienemittel oder bauen Test- und Impfstationen mit auf. Die körperliche Arbeit ist durch die Maskenpflicht anstrengender geworden und das Team muss bei der Arbeit auch untereinander darauf achten, Abstand zu halten. Das erschwert vor allem ihre Tätigkeit im Katastrophenschutz, wenn gemeinsam angepackt werden muss. Fabienne schätzt dafür das achtsame und kollegiale Miteinander beim THW umso mehr: „Wir gehen als gutes Vorbild voran und halten uns strikt an die Maßnahmen. Hoffentlich inspiriert das auch andere dazu, sich in dieser schwierigen Zeit solidarisch zu verhalten.“

Viviane, Bundespolizistin
Viviane

Bundespolizistin

Der Respekt gegenüber der Polizei nimmt immer mehr ab. Während Corona hat sich das noch verstärkt. Man merkt: Wir sind der Prellbock.

Für Viviane hat die Pandemie einiges verändert, sowohl beruflich als auch privat. Wie für alle berufstätigen Eltern ist die Kinderbetreuung gerade nur schwer zu meistern, vor allem wenn die Großeltern Teil der Risikogruppe sind. Ihren Arbeitsalltag verbringt Viviane momentan viel damit, Abstandsregeln und Maskenpflicht zu kontrollieren. Natürlich trägt niemand gerne Maske oder geht gerne ständig auf Distanz. Trotzdem sollten alle mitmachen, um die Pandemie schneller in den Griff zu bekommen. Das spart Zeit und Nerven, die momentan dringend benötigt werden. Viviane hofft daher auf mehr Verständnis für sich und ihre Kolleginnen und Kollegen: „Manchmal habe ich das Gefühl, es wird vergessen, dass hinter der Maske auch nur ein Mensch steckt.“

Sabrina, Feuerwehrfrau
Sabrina

Feuerwehrfrau

Wir werden die Pandemie nicht als Einzelkämpfer durchstehen. Die Maßnahmen sind für alle einschneidend, doch da müssen wir jetzt durch, wenn wir den Einschränkungen bald ein Ende setzen wollen.

Auf der Wache verbringen Sabrina und ihr Team 12- oder 24-Stunden-Schichten zusammen, sie fühlen sich daher wie eine Familie. „Wir machen Sport, kochen und essen zusammen, teilen uns einen Schlafraum, fahren Einsätze und verarbeiten diese hinterher gemeinsam. Das schweißt zusammen und macht die Feuerwehr so einzigartig“. Durch die Corona-Maßnahmen ist das Miteinander schwieriger geworden, auch bei den Einsätzen. Was früher Hand in Hand gemeistert wurde, muss nun zusätzlich mit einer großen Portion Distanz geschafft werden. Da ist es besonders enttäuschend, wenn einige sich noch immer nicht an die Regeln halten: „Es macht mich traurig zu sehen, wie leichtsinnig viele Menschen noch immer mit dieser heiklen Situation umgehen.“

Manuel, Notfallsanitäter
Manuel

Notfallsanitäter

Corona kann alle treffen. Nicht nur ältere, sondern auch junge und sportlich aktive Menschen. Bei unseren Einsätzen habe ich immer im Hinterkopf, dass es mich auch erwischen könnte.

Seit 20 Jahren arbeitet Manuel als Notfallsanitäter. In der Pandemie ist sein Job wichtiger denn je, das weiß er. Auch wenn seine Schichten heute körperlich und mental anstrengender sind als vor Ausbruch der Pandemie, lässt er sich nicht entmutigen. Er liebt seinen Beruf und nimmt die Risiken, die seine Arbeit mit sich bringen, in Kauf, um Leben zu retten. Gerade deshalb hofft er auf mehr Einsicht und Rücksicht in der Gesellschaft: „Corona kann alle treffen. Nicht nur ältere, sondern auch junge und sportlich aktive Menschen. Bei unseren Einsätzen habe ich immer im Hinterkopf, dass es mich auch erwischen könnte.“

Fabienne, THW-Helferin
Fabienne

THW-Helferin

Vor Weihnachten haben wir in kürzester Zeit eine Corona-Teststation aufgebaut. Da war die Wertschätzung in der Bevölkerung besonders groß. Man merkt schon, dass die Bevölkerung die Pandemie ernst nimmt und alle mitarbeiten, damit sie bald endet.

Die ehrenamtliche Arbeit beim Technischen Hilfswerk (THW) hat sich seit Corona verändert. Fabienne und ihre Teammitglieder werden jetzt meist auf Transportfahrten eingesetzt, holen Masken und Hygienemittel oder bauen Test- und Impfstationen mit auf. Die körperliche Arbeit ist durch die Maskenpflicht anstrengender geworden und das Team muss bei der Arbeit auch untereinander darauf achten, Abstand zu halten. Das erschwert vor allem ihre Tätigkeit im Katastrophenschutz, wenn gemeinsam angepackt werden muss. Fabienne schätzt dafür das achtsame und kollegiale Miteinander beim THW umso mehr: „Wir gehen als gutes Vorbild voran und halten uns strikt an die Maßnahmen. Hoffentlich inspiriert das auch andere dazu, sich in dieser schwierigen Zeit solidarisch zu verhalten.“